Bradford's Dean Harrison retained the prestigious Gold Cup trophy at Oliver's Mount with a dominant performance on the Silicone Engineering Kawasaki.

Harrison, who won the trophy in 2015 on the Mar-Train Yamaha, was a cut above the opposition as he clinched back-to-back successes in the showpiece race, taking the win by more than four seconds from Ivan Lintin (Devitt RC Express Kawasaki).

The Isle of Man's Dan Kneen finished in third as he secured a podium for last year's winners Mar-Train Racing.

Behind the top three, Daley Mathison (Motodex BMW) and John McGuinness (Bet Victor Honda) were fourth and fifth respectively.

Michael Dunlop was a retirement on the Buildbase BMW while Dublin rider Derek Sheils, who impressed on the Shirlaw Kawasaki over the weekend, retired on the warm-up lap.

Harrison won six races in all to underline his dominance around the 2.4-mile woodland circuit in north Yorkshire, including both Solo A and Senior races and the second leg of the David Jefferies Cup on his Supersport machine.

Lincolnshire rider Lintin won Saturday's opening leg of the David Jefferies Cup and notched a double in the Supertwins races, twice beating James Cowton and Northern Ireland's Adam McLean.

In the Sidecar class, Tim Reeves and Patrick Farrance won all three races for a hat-trick.

The 66th Steve Henshaw International Gold Cup marked 70 years of racing at Oliver's Mount over the weekend, with Guy Martin among those participating in a special parade lap on his Pikes Peak turbocharged GSX-R1100.


Loading Comments...