It's time for the annual Road Racer of the Year poll, which means we need you to award each rider on our shortlist with a score out of 10.

Michael Dunlop and Ian Hutchinson dominated at the Isle of Man TT this year, as the BMW pair stood head and shoulders above the rest.

Dunlop clinched a prestigious Superbike and Senior TT double on the Hawk Racing BMW and established a new outright lap record for the 37.73-mile Mountain Course, going agonisingly close to the magical 134mph mark with a blistering speed of 133.962mph to cap a memorable week on the Isle of Man.

However, Bingley Bullet Ian Hutchinson ensured the Ulster rider didn't have things all his own way as he repeated his 2015 treble in the Superstock and Supersport classes to move onto 14 victories, drawing level with Mike Hailwood and moving one win clear of arch-rival Dunlop.

Hutchinson was in a class of his own on the Team Traction Control Yamaha as he won both Supersport races in commanding style. He also chalked up a win on the Tyco BMW in the Superstock class, but twice had to settle for the runner-up spot in the premier Superbike and Senior showdowns behind Dunlop.

Honda's John McGuinness didn't quite have the pace to run with the BMW duo in the Superbike and Senior races, but the 23-time winner completed the rostrum in third in both races and remains a force to be reckoned with.

Hutchinson also produced a masterclass at the Ulster Grand Prix, notching a fabulous four-timer as he won both Superbike races, the Superstock race and the second Supersport race to rule the roost at Dundrod. He also became the first rider ever to break the 134mph barrier, setting a new absolute course record on his final lap in the second Superbike race of 134.089mph.

At the North West 200 earlier in the year, Dunlop won the sole Superbike race and shattered Josh Brookes' outright lap record, while Hutchinson again had the edge in the Superstock race.

Yet the main headlines at the North West went to former two-time British champion Alastair Seeley, whose Supersport brace on the Gearlink Kawasaki saw him become the most successful rider ever in the history of the event from roads legend Robert Dunlop. Seeley has now won 17 times around the famous 'Triangle' course and has outlined his goal of surpassing 20 wins in the future.

Peter Hickman perhaps didn't hit the heights many expected this year at the TT, with a solid fourth place in the Superbike race tempered by DNFs in the Superstock and Senior races. However, he was on the podium at the North West 200 in the Superstock and Supersport classes and won a thrilling race at the Macau Grand Prix in September, taking his second successive win in the Far East.

Veteran Bruce Anstey maintained his remarkable record of international road race wins with a hard-earned victory in the opening Supersport race at the Ulster Grand Prix, thwarting Ian Hutchinson's bid to complete a clean sweep of the feature classes at Dundrod. Anstey also pushed Hutchinson all the way on the Padgett's Honda RC213V-S as he twice finished as the runner-up in the Superbike races. At the TT, a crash during practice left Anstey battered and bruised for race week, but he managed to add another win to his tally with victory in the TT Zero race on the Mugen Shinden electric motorcycle.

The evergreen Michael Rutter also had a strong season on the Bathams BMW, finishing third in the Superbike race at the North West 200 and fourth in the Superstock race. Rutter also finished fourth in the Superstock TT and maintained his excellent record at the Macau Grand Prix, taking the runner-up spot behind Hickman.

Bradford's Dean Harrison was back to his best this year after switching back to Kawasaki machinery in the Silicone Engineering team, finishing on the podium in both Supersport races at the TT and sealing a terrific runner-up finish in the Superstock race. Harrison also finished fourth in the Senior race and fifth in the Superbike race during a consistent week on the Isle of Man. The 27-year-old also won the feature Gold Cup race at Oliver's Mount, Scarborough for the second year running.

Glenn Irwin concentrated on the British Superbike Championship this year on the PBM Be Wiser Ducati, but the Northern Ireland prospect created a stir at the Macau Grand Prix, where he was right in the mix for the rostrum on his debut until a technical problem forced him out with a lap to go.

William Dunlop, Ivan Lintin, Lee Johnston, James Hillier and Conor Cummins also make the shortlist.

You voted in your thousands last season and once again we want you to rate your Road Racer of the Year out of ten for their performances this year. We will then countdown the order set by the votes later this month...



Loading Comments...