Bruce Anstey retained his SES TT Zero title with victory in Friday's electric race on the Mugen Roku machine for his 11th Isle of Man win.

The popular New Zealand rider was never headed and won the race at a speed of 117.710mph, beating team-mate Guy Martin by 42 seconds, who lapped at 113.632mph.

Daley Mathison finished third on the Nottingham University machine ahead of Dean Harrison, who was riding for Belgian team Sarolea Racing.

The race was notable for the fact that all eight starters finished this year's race.

Anstey said: "Thanks to Mugen for bringing me back at the last minute. I was really hoping to do a 120mph lap but the conditions weren't right. Maybe next year. I was really comfortable dropping in to the team at the last minute with only a few days notice. It's a great ride just like a 250 and it has got great corner speed.

Martin, who decided against competing on the new Honda Racing Fireblade in the Senior TT, said he felt honoured to be part of the Mugen project.

"It's been an interesting week with the missed laps I've been behind and it's Bruce's fourth year. I've had to adapt and it's like riding a 250, he said.

"You can compare it to the Wall of Death and ride it with a glass throttle. I feel honoured to be asked to be involved in the Mugen project. Those boys are different league. This is the future and I'm over the moon to be involved as I'd been really looking forward to it.



Loading Comments...