Bruce Anstey topped the times for the Classic TT Superbike class on the Padgetts Yamaha YZR500 on Tuesday evening.

Monday’s session was called off due to poor weather but the action recommenced after mist cleared in time before the session was scheduled to get underway.

Anstey, who won the race in 2014, set the fastest lap at 121.932mph on his second lap to lead the way from Ivan Lintin (121.094mph) on the Kraus Racing Kawasaki.

Derek Sheils (121.04mph) and Horst Saiger (120.89mph) - both on Greenall Racing Kawasaki machines – were next followed by David Johnson, who clocked 120.11mph on the Team York Suzuki.

Michael Dunlop, who has won the race for the past two years, was an early retirement on the Team Classic Suzuki at Ballacraine.

In the Lightweight Class, Ian Lougher on the Laylaw Racing Yamaha TZ250 (113.994mph) topped the board from last year’s race winner Anstey, who completed a lap on the Padgetts Honda RS250 at 113.010mph.

Ulsterman Dunlop, after his earlier Superbike retirement, posted his first lap of the meeting with a speed of 102.656mph on the 250cc Turner Racing Yamaha in the Lightweight class.

Dominic Herbertson went quickest in the Senior session at 104.606mph on the Davies Motorsport Honda from James Cowton (Dave Kenah Racing Norton) who lapped at 104.476mph.

Dean Harrison, the 2015 race winner, was third fastest on the Black Eagle Racing MV Agusta with a lap of 103.397mph.

Practice is set to continue on Wednesday evening ahead of the opening Senior and Lightweight Classic TT races on Saturday.


Loading Comments...