Michael Rutter has taken his seventh career Isle of Man TT victory by successfully defending his TT Zero crown with Mugen setting a new lap record for the electric bikes.

The Bathams Mugen rider kept clear of team-mate John McGuinness to win by 8.566s in the single-lap TT Zero race and set a new lap record of 121.91mph.

With McGuinness in second, taking his 47th career TT podium, Ian Lougher rounded out the rostrum on the Team Mirai with ILR Idaten X RE, almost three-and-a-half minutes behind winner Rutter.

An emotional stand-in by Davey Todd, filling in for team-mate Daley Mathison who died in Monday’s Superbike TT, ended in retirement before reaching the Bungalow on the University of Nottingham-run bike.

Matthew Rees secured fourth place for University of Bath ahead of Allan Venter on the Brunel University’s entry, as Mike Norbury took sixth place on the leading Duffy Motorsport SR bike as team-mate Shaun Anderson completed the finishers.

Isle of man TT 2019 Michael Rutter tt 2019 Winner interview