The Oxford Silver Machine's 2003 season is over after the Poole Pirates successfully defended their twenty two point lead in the Knockout Cup Semi Final. Oxford did not make the best of starts to the meeting and were six points down after just five heats.

A run of three maximum heat wins in the next three moved the Silver Machine to six points up and they did not surrender the lead for the rest of the meeting, winning in the end by the narrowest of margins.

The night was all about the retiring Todd Wiltshire who fittingly top scored for the Silver Machine in his last meeting for the club. Wiltshire was in spectacular form throughout the night, and his pass on Leigh Adams in the tenth heat was sheer class. His final lap around the track was to rapturous applause and there was not a dry eye in the house as all the Silver Machine fans were finally forced to accept that Wiltshire really was calling it a day.

Wiltshire was fittingly named as rider of the night and also received a commemorative gift from the Oxford Speedway Supporters Club. Charlie Gjedde was also named as rider of the year, winning with the biggest majority in the history of the award.

Todd Wiltshire 11, Sebastian Ulamek 7, Charlie Gjedde 8, Kaj Laukkanen 1, Greg Hancock 8, Travis McGowan 5, Andy Smith 6

Leigh Adams 17, Bjarne Pedersen 2, Mark Loram 7, Antonio Lindback 3, Tony Rickardsson 9, Ales Dryml 4, Davey Watt 2



Loading Comments...