The Action Express Corvette team of Joao Barbosa, Christian Fittipaldi and Sebastien Bourdais has taken glory in the 2015 Sebring 12 Hours - rounds two of the United SportsCar Championship - after a commanding second-half performance saw it go a lap clear of its rivals.

The trio played second fiddle to the Ganassi Ford of Scott Dixon, Joey Hand and Scott Pruett during the first half, but would move ahead shortly after the six hour mark and proceed to extend its advantage all the way to the chequered flag.

Never putting a wheel wrong, the Portuguese/Brazilian/French trio would end the race more than a lap clear of the competition, headed up by the sister Wayne Taylor Corvette of Ricky Taylor, Jordan Taylor and Max Angelelli, who fought back from brake issues early on to score a strong result that makes some amends from being penalised post-race in the Daytona 24 Hours.

With the Ganassi car fading towards the end of the race, the Corvette of Richard Westbrook and Mike Rockenfeller upped its pace to nab third in the final half-hour, consigning Dixon, Hand and Pruett to a frustrated fourth.

In a race of high attrition, just five Prototype cars would enjoy fairly trouble-free races, with the pole sitting Krohn Ligier finishing six laps down in eighth place after suffering a series of niggling issues, while the other P2 cars from MSR and ESM, as well as the DeltaWing, suffered early exits.

As such, the top PC car led by British driver Tom Kimber-Smith took home the class honours in an impressive sixth place overall.

In the GTLM class, the Corvette of Antonio Garcia, Jan Magnussen and Ryan Briscoe claimed an unlikely victory after both factory Porsches hit problems in the closing stages having looked on course for a comfortable 1-2. First the #912 car lost time with a jamming wheel nut in its final pit stop, before gearbox issues brought the #911 car to a halt, thus handing victory to its American rivals.

The GTD class was similarly frantic after the TI Automotive Viper retired with just minutes remaining after developing technical issues, a heart-breaking result given Jeroen Bleekemolen had fought back to snatch the lead of the category not long before. Their demise opened the door again for Alex Job Porsche to claim the win in the hands of Ian James, Dominik Farnbacher and Alex Riberas.



Loading Comments...