Norma M20 FC trio of Ander Vilarino, Alain Ferte and Philippe Illiano sealed the Proto Endurance championship crown in emphatic fashion with a fourth win of the year.
6 Hours V de V Proto Endurance: Vilarino / Fert? / Illiano officially declared champions

Recording their fourth victory this season, Ander Vilarino, Alain Fert? and Philippe Illiano officially confirm their status as champions. In the end, all the #2 Norma M20 FC had to do was start the race, and the title was in the bag. Despite encountering some difficulties, they didn't give up, even when the chance of a victory seemed out of their reach: the team pulled together and the driver trio gave it their all to make their way up the standings - crossing the finish line in first, just as they did in Barcelona, Le Mans and Magny-Cours.

In motorsport, nothing is over until the chequered flag is shown - and DB Autosport's #22 Norma had a bitter experience with just ten minutes of the race to go. Like at Mugello, Delafosse, Dannielou and Petersen led pretty much the whole of the race, before Dannielou made an unfortunate move in the final stages, sliding off-course which left the team with no choice but to retire. This opened up an unexpected opportunity for Norma #2 - whose result wasn't confirmed until the last hour due to threats from several candidates. These included Equipe Palmyr's n?40 Norma handled by Mondolot, Zollinger and Thuner, CD Sport's n?30 machine entrusted this weekend to Scheier, Taittinger and Cochet and IDEC Sport Racing's usual drivers Patrice and Paul Lafargue and Dimitri Enjalbert in Ligier JS 53 #17.

Other contenders weren't so lucky. CD Sport's #32 machine (Maulini / Bole-Besan?on / Foubert) encountered problems throughout the race, taking home a well-defended 4th place overall; DB Autosport's #21 Norma (Bassora / Monclair / Santamato) had a similar story and were pushed all the way down to 6th. This, plus retirements from several other prototypes, meant that several Prestige class competitors found their way onto the overall podium - just like at Magny-Cours.

Equipe Palymr thus finished the season on a high by placing two out of four cars in the top three, first the #42 machine entrusted to Kubryk / Wolff / Beck, followed by car #41 handled by Crouillet / Rosati. The team did also manage to place a third car on the podium - the #43 Norma, driven by B. Thuner / Genecand / Girardet this weekend - which finished in an impressive 5th position, meaning the three steps of the Gentleman Driver's podium were occupied by drivers from Equipe Palmyr.
Formulo - Race 3: A dreamy end to the season for TS Corse

The front row of the grid was locked out by Alex Peroni and Rinus Van Kalmthout, as in race 1, and the start of these races couldn't have been more similar. The Australian driver made it three wins in a row after being closely followed by the MP Motorsport candidate, who may have been a threat for Peroni's title this season, had he participated in all the events.

The TS Corse driver's status was nevertheless justified after he led from start to finish to take his 14th victory of the year in front of the Dutchman. Alexey Chuklin (MP Motorsport) experienced an action-packed twenty minutes before inviting himself onto the podium, after Gr?goire Saucy (GSK Grand Prix) was forced to retire, giving him enough points to retain third place in the Championship. The Ukrainian driver crossed the finish line ahead of Gilles Heriau (Formula Motorsport), 2016's new vice-champion, Antoine Robert (RC Formula) and Ghislain Cordeel (Excelsior). > (Formula Motorsport) was on this final occasion the lucky winner of the Gentleman drivers' class - however it wasn't enough to stop Pietro Peccenini, TS Corse's Italian driver, from taking the Championship title, after he finished second in the race.

Finally Gr?gory Choukroun (Lamo Racing Car) took home a splendid third place after making an excellent start, while Alain Bucher became the new B Championship title holder.



Loading Comments...