Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard have moved to the head of the 2015 World Endurance Championship drivers' standings with victory in the Fuji 6 Hours, as a 1-2 finish strengthened Porsche's advantage over Audi in the constructors' reckoning.

With damp conditions creating a lottery during the opening phase of the race, it was Porsche that would ultimately emerge clear as the surface dried, with the #18 919 Hybrid of Marc Lieb, Neel Jani and Romain Dumas surging through.

Indeed, it was a faultless performance for the Porsche trio, biding their time and proving the class of the field in dry conditions and opening up a lead of more than a minute in the final stages of the six-hour race.

However, with the #18 car seemingly out of title contention after problems at the previous COTA race, Porsche took the decision to swap the lead with the more favourably placed #17 machine of Webber, Bernhard and Hartley in the closing minutes.

Gifting the trio its third win in a row, the 1-2 result sees Porsche multiply its advantage over Audi in the all-important constructors' standings, the manufacturer now 53 points clear of its main rivals.

It was a gesture in kind that would be repeated by the Audi team behind, with the #8 R18 e-tron of Loic Duval, Oliver Jarvis and Lucas di Grassi moving over for Marcel Fassler, Bennoit Treluyer and Andre Lotterer by taking an unscheduled stop in the final minutes.

Audi had looked strong in the early stages on wet rubber, but an ill-timed switch to slick tyres would ultimately prove erroneous, forcing the cars back into the pit lane. Putting it well adrift of Porsche as both cars extended the advantage, the German firm had to make do with third and fourth.

As a result, Webber, Hartley and Bernhard have moved ahead of the Lotterer, Treluyer and Fassler in the drivers; reckoning too by just a single point with two races remaining.

Behind them, defending champions Toyota finished a distant fifth and sixth, the wet conditions failing to help them get back on terms with the dominant Porsche and Audi LMP1 packages.

G-Drive claims controversial LMP2 win

The G-Driver Ligier of Sam Bird, Roman Rusinov and Julian Canal swept to a controversial win in the LMP2 reckoning after more than one incident involving the team and the erstwhile-class leading KCMG Oreca.

The trio were engaged in a fierce tussle with Nick Tandy, Matthew Howson and Richard Bradley in the KCMG car, the two entries coming to blows in the closing stages, forcing the KCMG car to pit with rear-bodywork damage.

However, worse was to follow for KCMG when, as it was fighting back through the order, it passed the sister G-Drive Ligier being driven by Gustavo Yacaman with only minutes of the race remaining, only to be punted into the barriers and out of the race. Allowing the Bird/Rusinov/Canal G-Drive to win as KCMG non-scored, the Russian team is now comfortably out front in the overall standings.

Ferrari back to its best in GTE

AF Corse Ferrari claimed a convincing 1-2 result in the GTE Pro class, with Gimmi Bruni and Toni Vilander claiming the spoils, ahead of the sister entry from James Calado and Davide Rigon.

Ferrari and Porsche had engaged in the tussle in the opening stages, but Ferrari would emerge clear with the multiple champions pulling away to claim a crucial win that keeps them in title contention. Richard Lietz remains at the head of the overall standings for Porsche.



Loading Comments...