href=""> Click here for full WEC Shanghai 6 Hours race results

Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard have made a huge stride towards the FIA World Endurance Championship title after taking a third straight win, with Porsche clinching the manufacturers' crown with its one-two finish.

In another dominant display by the German marque the championship-leading #17 Porsche 919 Hybrid claimed victory by 26 seconds in the Shanghai 6 Hours to extend its lead in the standings to 12 points.

Porsche fought off the attacking Audis in wet to drying conditions and gained a healthy advantage when switching to intermediates tyres early, at the end of the third hour, while Audi double-stinted on the wets.

Audi responded by jumping to slick tyres to close the gap and the #7 of Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler skated into second after the #18 Porsche spun.

However, the dominance of the Porsche machine told and Romain Dumas was able to reel in the Audi and notch up yet another 1-2 finish for Porsche and with it the FIA WEC manufacturers' title with a race to spare.

Audi secured the best result possible behind Porsche with the #7 taking the final rostrum spot to keep Webber, Hartley and Bernhard within touching distance in the WEC drivers' championship. The gap is now 12 points heading into the season finale in Bahrain at the end of the month.

The #8 Audi of Oliver Jarvis, Loic Duval and Lucas di Grassi comfortably took fourth ahead of the pair of Toyotas in fifth and sixth respectively.

The Signatech Alpine team claimed the top honours in the LMP2 class with its Oreca-Nissan 03R with Nelson Panciatici, Paul-Loup Chatin and Tom Dillmann at the wheel, a lap ahead of category leaders' G-Drive Ligier-Nissan JSP2.

G-Drive's second place extended its lead over KCMG - who completed the LMP2 podium in third - heading into the seasone in Bahrain.

Porsche also dominated the GTE Pro class with Ricard Lietz and Michael Christensen taking a comfortable victory in the #91 Porsche Team Manthey 911 RSR, while AF Corse enjoyed the GTE Am class victory as Francois Perrodo, Rui Aguas and Emmanuel Collard notched up victory.



Loading Comments...