Click here for full 6 Hours of Mexico race results

The #1 Porsche of Mark Webber, Brendon Hartley and Timo Bernhard have secured their second consecutive victory in a messy maiden 6 Hours of Mexico which saw multiple collisions and near-misses punctate the pace.

With a healthy lead over the chasing #7 Audi of Andre Lotterer and Marcel Fassler, Bernhard had a heart-in-mouth moment while bringing the Porsche to the chequered flag when he ran off track at the last corner and narrowly missed the wall.

It was one of many hairy moments for the front-runners as the chasing #7 Audi had earlier clipped the wall in the stadium section during the closing stages.

The #6 Toyota of Kamui Kobayashi, Stephane Sarrazin and Mike Conway secured the final step on the rostrum after fending off the #2 Porsche late on. The Porsche of Marc Lieb, Romain Dumas and Neel Jani had been set to challenge the top two in the closing stages before a crash with the #36 Alpine LMP2 which required an extra stop to repair a rear assembly.

Earlier in the race the #8 Audi of Loic Duval, Oliver Jarvis and Lucas di Grassi dropped out from the lead after being caught out by the first rain spell.

Opting to stay out a lap later than the two Porsche cars, Jarvis returned to the track on intermediates only for a wheel bearing to fail and send the Audi into the wall at turn one. Jarvis was able to nurse the car back to the pits and return to action but its race was effectively over.

The second Toyota also had a race to forget with a fault hybrid power unit which ended its challenge early in the race.

It was home joy in LMP2 for the #43 RGR Sport by Morand with Felipe Albuquerque leading home the victory for co-drivers Bruno Senna and Ricardo Gonzalez. The team was made to sweat for its second win of the year as it crossed the line just two seconds ahead of the #36 Signtech Alpine driven by Nicolas Lapierre, Gustavo Menezes and Stefan Richelmi.

In LMGTE Pro, it provided an even tighter battle with the #97 Aston Martin Vantage of Darren Turner and Richie Stanaway securing the British manufacturer's first win of the year, just 0.9s ahead of Nurburgring winners #51 AF Corse Ferrari of Gianmaria Bruni and James Calado. GTE Pro championship leaders #95 Aston Martin of Nicki Thiim and Marco Sorensen took third.

In LMGTE Am the #88 Abu Dhabi Proton Racing Porsche of Pat Long, Khaled Al Quabaisi and David Heinemeier-Hansson grabbed their maiden win of the year a lap ahead of the championship leaders #83 AF Corse Ferrari 456 of Emmanuel Collard, Rui Aguas and Francois Perrodo.



Loading Comments...