A record-breaking Saturday crowd at the Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 in Bathurst witnessed a phenomenal record-breaking performance by K-Mart Racing's Greg Murphy as Holden claimed pole position in the top ten shootout.

The New Zealand V8 Supercar star ripped out the fastest lap ever around Mount Panorama in front of 44,553 people, clocking 2min 06.8594secs - more than a second faster than the previous 'best-ever' lap, which he recorded in Friday's qualifying session. Murphy, who topped the practice and qualifying timesheets at various times over the past two days, claimed his first ever Bob Jane T-Marts 1000 pole position in a lap that sent the Holden fans wild - but left him speechless.

"I'm still lost for words," he said, "I can't believe what has happened. I knew we had to push pretty hard to get past JB [John Bowe], but that time was amazing. I had to check with the boys that it was correct. Actually, I made a pretty big error. Out of the Dipper, I put it into first instead of third so it certainly wasn't perfect."

Bowe had set the fastest lap before Murphy hit the track, recording 2min 07.9556secs to chalk up the first-ever shootout time under 2min 08secs.

"I thought ours was a pretty reasonable lap," Bowe said, "but Murph's was fantastic. No-one ever considered that anyone could do that time. Usually times are cut by hundredths of a second, not a whole second."

Seven-time Bathurst winner Jim Richards (Holden Racing Team) was third fastest with his personal best lap of Mount Panorama, while Garth Tander (Garry Rogers Motorsport) will join the veteran on the second row of the grid.

Series leader Marcos Ambrose (Pirtek Caltex Havoline Racing) will start from fifth position after a shootout lap of 2min 08.442secs, while fellow Ford driver Craig Lowndes (Ford Performance Racing) took sixth.

The winner of the previous two Bob Jane T-Marts 1000s, and last year's pole-sitter, Mark Skaife (Holden Racing Team) put in a lap of 2min 08.5696secs to be seventh fastest, but saw his 2002 pole time crushed as Murphy's went some 1.96secs quicker.

The Castrol Perkins Racing #11 car was forced to miss the shootout after Larry Perkins put the Commodore into the wall in the morning's practice session. Perkins and Steven Richards will now start the race from position ten.



Loading Comments...