V8 driver, team and series announcements in store.

A fortnight after the conclusion of the 2006 V8 Supercar Championship Series, and already several announcements appear in the pipeline with several rumours firming up in the media this week.

Fujtisu Racing looks set to announce Adam Macrow and Simon Wills as the joint drivers of the #26 BFII Falcon after Motorsport News Australia reported the move. This comes after a Crash.net Exclusive revealed that several drivers were being considered for the move shortly after the Caterpillar Grand Finale - Macrow revealed as one of the candidates.

The same Australan magazine has also reported that Fabian Coulthard will become the full time driver of the #39 Team Sirromet Wines Commodore next year, after running in it during the 2006 season. Coulthard, a Holden Young Lion, will drive a VY Commodore for the majority of next year's championship before an update to a VE model at the end of the season.

Dick Johnson Racing looks set to take to the 2007 championship with a new major backer after Australian News Corporation sources reported that Jim Beam is likely to replace Dick Johnson's companies as naming rights sponsor, going head to head in the championship with rival brand Jack Daniel's - which sponsors the Perkins Motorsport entries in both V8 leagues. In a move that is set to re-invigorate the Queensland based team, Steven Johnson and Will Davison now appear likely to both be on the grid next year. An official announcement is expected shortly.

"We've been saved by the skin of our teeth," said Team Manager Steve Chalker to The Adelaide Advertiser

"It's too early to say anything officially but we've done a deal that guarantees we will be on the grid next year.

"We're not in a position to do anything just yet but early in the New Year we plan to have an official launch."

Jim Beam has also been announced as official Bourbon sponsor of the championship, with an announcement today confirming that the company will become a major sponsor of the series and hold the rights to pour at all championship events, excluding the Bahrain championship round in 2007, starting with the Clipsal 500 Adelaide from March 1-4.