Ford's Mark Winterbottom has maintained his current reign of invincibility after beating his main V8 Supercars championship rival Craig Lowndes to a race two victory at Queensland Raceway.

The Prodrive driver followed up on his exemplary race one performance and recorded his 35th career win whilst extending his present victory sweep to four in a row.

Pole man Lowndes did make a clean getaway and successfully repelled the danger from the fast starting Winterbottom in second position.

But Lowndes - on the narrow line into turn one- ran wide slightly wide and that left enough of a gap for Winterbottom to slice through into turn two.

Before the battle could heat up Shane Van Gisbergen's stricken Holden Commodore brought out the safety car as the race entered a brief hiatus.

As the race recommenced on lap 3, it became clear Winterbotton's Pepsi Max Ford was unable to shake off the attention from the Red Bull Commodore of Lowndes and the top-two title protagonists locked into combat.

Lowndes looked particularly strong under braking and clawed tantalisingly close to the Ford Falcon FG X on a number of occasions but, in reality, the 100 time winner couldn't get close enough.

A small error from the Triple Eight racer, resulting in a brief off-track excursion, signaled the end of his race two victory aspirations.

Winterbottom held on and extended his championship ahead of Lowndes while Chaz Mostert and David Reynolds made it a Prodrive 1-3-4 result.

Triple Eight's Jamie Whincup did threaten to become a nuisance to the Prodrive cause midway through the way but the reigning six-time champion was forced to settle for fifth.

Todd Kelly was the top Nissan Altima runner in sixth ahead of Erebus' Will Davison in seventh, who scored his second consecutive top-ten result aboard the Mercedes E63.

James Courtney was eighth for the Holden Racing factory effort while Volvo's Scott McLaughlin recovered from his opening lap off to finish in ninth.

DJR Team Penske's Scott Pye made up for his race one retirement and rounded out the top-ten order in tenth.



Loading Comments...