DJR Team Penske's Fabian Coulthard will start the main 250 kilometre leg of the V8 Supercars Clipsal 500 from pole position after setting the pace in the race three top-ten grid shootout.

It's taken just three attempts for Coulthard to score his first pole-position for his new team since switching from Brad Jones Racing to the Penske squad for the 2016 season.

The Kiwi's 1 minute 21.3006 second lap was good enough to hand the DJR Ford outfit their second pole of the weekend - adding to Scott Pye's success - by 0.0065's ahead of Chaz Mostert, who joins Coulthard on the front row.

Shane Van Gisbergen out qualified his new Red Bull Racing Australia team mate Jamie Whincup for the first time since joining the Triple Eight squad this season after posting the third best time of the shootout.

Despite having set the provisional pole time in the previous session, GRM Volvo's Scott McLaughlin had to settle for fourth as the Kiwi splits the two Red Bull Commodore's ahead of Whincup in fifth.

Whincup had set a blisteringly quick opening sector on his flyer but the six-time champion lost a chunk of time during the final phase of the lap.

Rick Kelly was Nissan's sole representative in sixth, over 0.5's quicker than reigning champion Mark Winterbottom in seventh.

Scott Pye and Cameron Waters completed the final two sets of representative times in eighth and ninth while yesterday's race two winner James Courtney failed to register a lap in tenth.



Loading Comments...