Red Bull Racing's Jamie Whincup makes it two victories from two attempts at the penultimate race of the season but the afternoon belonged to Prodrive's Mark Winterbottom after third position was enough to secure his maiden V8 Supercars title around the streets of Sydney.

Third position was all Winterbottom needed to become the first man since James Courtney in 2010 to break Whincup's four-year reign of invincibility.

To state the obvious, the Pepsi Max Crew driver has looked the most likely candidate to usurp Whincup's period of dominance all season, having won nine races in 2015.

But an eleven-race winless streak for Winterbottom, stemming from Sandown Park, allowed for Craig Lowndes to close the gap on the points leader but it only delayed the inevitable.

Starting from pole position, Whincup's eight victory of the season moves him within three points of snatching fifth in the points standings away from Holden's Garth Tander.

David Reynolds split Whincup and Winterbottom on the podium in second, meaning The Bottle-O Racing driver all but wraps up third place in overall table.

HRT's James Courtney was fourth for the second race in a row while Polestar Volvo's Scott McLaughlin crept into the top five ahead of his fellow Kiwi Shane Van Gisbergen in sixth.

Seventh place for Lowndes signalled the end of the reigning Bathurst champions slim title hopes.

Rick Kelly was eighth in the Nissan Altima ahead of DJR Team Penske's Scott Pye and Walkinshaw Racing's Lee Holdsworth, both completing the top ten in ninth and tenth.



Loading Comments...