Norway, Portugal and Ireland will all host World Rally Championship events in 2007 after the World Motor Sport Council announced the calendar for next season following a meeting in Paris.

The three new events replace those in Cyprus, Turkey and Australia on a calendar that will run once again run from January through to December after the decision was taken not to revert to a winter series.

The original plan had been for the 2007 WRC season to run from January to May, with the 2008 season then kicking off in later summer and running to Spring 2008, although those plans have been shelved - for the time being at least.

As per normal, the season will start with the famous Monte Carlo Rally before back-to-back snow events in Sweden and Norway in February. The WRC then heads away from Europe for the first time to Mexico in early March, before the second new event in Portugal and Rally Argentina in early May.

Italy, Greece, Finland and Germany follow - the latter two swapping places on the calendar - before the long-haul trip to New Zealand, which for 2007 will be held in late August and early September, rather than mid November as is the case this season.

Arriving back in Europe, the drivers will face back-to-back tarmac events in Corsica and Spain - which move from Spring to Autumn before the final 'flyway' event in Japan - which is put back almost two months until late October.

The season then draws to a close with Rally Ireland in November and Rally GB which retains its place as the season finale.

While Jordan, South Africa and Poland all missed out on securing a place on the calendar, they still have a chance to host a WRC event in 2007 - as do the three who have lost their place - with the WMSC adding that 'the World Rally Championship Commission will decide whether to add further events to the 2007 calendar and will make a proposal at the next World Council meeting.'

2007 FIA World Rally Championship calendar:

19-21 Jan Rallye Automobile Monte-Carlo
9-11 Feb Swedish Rally
16-18 Feb Rally Norway
9-11 Mar Rally Mexico
30 Mar-1 Apr Rally de Portugal
4-6 May Rally Argentina
18-20 May Rally Italia-Sardinia
1-3 June Acropolis Rally of Greece
3-5 Aug Rally Finland
17-19 Aug Rallye Deutschland
31 Aug-2 Sept Rally New Zealand
5-7 Oct Rallye de France - Tour de Corse
12-14 Oct Rallye de Espa?a
26-28 Oct Rally Japan
16-18 Nov Rally Ireland
30 Nov-2 Dec Rally GB



Loading Comments...