Ford's new favoured driver Francois Duval kicked off his Rally New Zealand in style by claiming the fastest time during pre-event shakedown in his Stobart VK Ford Focus.

Best known for his exploits on asphalt, Duval got the nod for New Zealand in place of Gigi Galli, who is currently recovering from the broken leg sustained on Rallye Deutschland.

The Belgian swiftly rewarded the team for their faith in him by completing the 3.08km shakedown stage in 2mins 26secs, marginally faster than works driver Jari-Matti Latvala, the driver he will replace in the factory team for the upcoming Tarmac-based events in Spain and Corsica.

Still, Duval, who won his one and only WRC rally in Australia three years ago, was not reading too much into the times, even if he was pleased to get the chance to shine again.

"It's been a long time since I've driven a Ford Focus on a gravel rally but the car feels really nice," said Duval. "But this weekend is going to be difficult for me. The stages are completely new and so are the car and the tyres. In fact everything is new.

"Of course it feels good to be fastest today - it's not bad - but the road isn't very representative of tomorrow's stages, so we have to wait and see how we get on."

Mikko Hirvonen and Petter Solberg shared the third fastest time, just seven tenths behind Duval, while Dani Sordo made a good start in fifth place, ahead of championship leading team-mate Sebastien Loeb, the Frenchman making a modest start to the weekend as he readies himself for the task of being first on the road.

Matthew Wilson showed fine form in seventh, ahead of sometime team-mate Henning Solberg, who will be driving the Munchi's Focus this weekend. Subaru's Chris Atkinson and Urmo Aava in his privateer Citroen C4 rounded out the top ten.

Elsewhere, the two Suzukis of Toni Gardemeister and Per-Gunnar Andersson completed shakedown with the 11th and 13th best times.

Shakedown times:

1. Francois DuvalStobart VK Ford Focus WRC 072mins 26.0secs M
2. Jari-Matti LatvalaBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 072mins 26.4secs M
3=. Mikko HirvonenBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 072mins 26.7secs M
3=. Petter SolbergSubaru WRT Impreza WRC 20082mins 26.7secs M
5. Daniel SordoCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC2mins 27.2secs M
6. Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC 2mins 27.3secs M
7. Matthew WilsonStobart VK Ford Focus WRC 072mins 27.4secs M
8. Henning SolbergMunchi's Ford Focus WRC 072mins 28.0secs M
9. Chris AtkinsonSubaru WRT Impreza WRC 20082mins 28.8secs M
10. Urmo AavaPH Sport-Citroen C4 WRC2mins 29.0secs A8
11=. Federico VillagraMunchi's Ford Focus WRC 072mins 29.1secs M
11=. Toni GardemeisterSuzuki WRT SX4 WRC2mins 29.1secs M
13. Per-Gunnar AnderssonSuzuki WRT SX4 WRC2mins 30.2secs M
14. Conrad Rautenbach PH Sport-Citroen C4 WRC2mins 33.4secs A8



Loading Comments...