Sebastien Loeb clinches the 2008 drivers' title following his third place finish on the Rally Japan.

Loeb has now scored 112 points and with Mikko Hirvonen ten points behind he cannot be caught (i.e. if Seb failed to score in Wales and his Finnish rival took the maximum haul, the Frenchman would still be crowned as he has taken more wins this season).

In the Manufacturers' Championship, the Citroen Total WRT see its 23 point gap cut back by BP Ford Abu Dhabi to 11 points and with a maximum 18 points potentially up for grabs on Rally GB the fight will go down to the wire.

Juho Hanninen meanwhile takes the lead in the P-WRC and having notched up ten points in Sapporo goes to Wales 6 points ahead of Andreas Aigner, his only threat.

World Rally Drivers' Championship (after 14 of 15 rounds):

1. Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC 112 points
2. Mikko HirvonenBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 102 points
3. Daniel SordoCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC59 points
4. Jari-Matti LatvalaBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 50 points
= Chris AtkinsonSubaru WRT Impreza WRC50 points
6. Petter SolbergSubaru WRT Impreza WRC 41 points
7. Henning SolbergStobart/Munchi's Ford Focus WRC 22 points
= Francois DuvalStobart VK M-Sport Ford Focus WRC 22 points
9. Gigi GalliStobart VK M-Sport Ford Focus WRC 17 points
10. Matthew WilsonStobart VK M-Sport Ford Focus WRC 15 points
11. Urmo AavaPH Sport-Citroen C4 WRC13 points
12. Federico VillagraMunchi's Ford Focus WRC 9 points
13. P-G AnderssonSuzuki WRT SX4 WRC8 points
= Toni GardemeisterSuzuki WRT SX4 WRC8 points
15. Conrad RautenbachPH Sport-Citroen C4 WRC6 points
16. Andreas MikkelsenRamsport Ford Focus WRC 5 points
17. Jean-Marie CuoqPeugeot 307 WRC2 points
= Matti RantanenFord Focus RS WRC 062 points
19. Juho HanninenMitsubishi Lancer Evo IV1 point
= Sebastien OgierCitroen C2 S16001 point
= Andreas AignerMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX1 point

World Rally Manufacturers' Championship (after 14 of 15 rounds):

1. Citroen Total WRT175 points
2. BP Ford Abu Dhabi WRT 164 points
3. Subaru WRT93 points
4. Stobart VK M-Sport Ford RT 64 points
5. Suzuki WRT28 points
6. Munchi's Ford WRT 22 points

Production Car World Rally Championship (for drivers) (after 7 of 8 rounds):

1. Juho HanninenMitsubishi Lancer Evo IV36 points
2. Andreas AignerMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX30 points
3. Jari KetomaaSubaru Impreza N1423 points
4. Patrik SandellPeugeot 20722 points
5. Martin ProkopMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX17 points
6. Martin RauamMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX15 points
= Fumio NutaharaMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX15 points
8. Armindo AraujoMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX12 points
= Bernardo SousaMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX12 points
10. Toshi AraiSubaru Impreza9 points
= Mirco BaldacciMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX9 points
12. Sebastian BeltranMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX8 points
= Jussi V?lim?ki Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 9 8 points
= Evgeny NovikovMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX8 points
15. Evgeniy VertunovSubaru Impreza WRX STi6 points
= Evgeny AksakovMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX6 points
17. Oscar SvedlundSubaru Impreza WRX Sti5 points
= Haydon PaddonMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX5 points
= Eyvind BrynildsenMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX5 points
20. Uwe NittelMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX4 points
= Takuma KamadaSubaru Impreza WRX STi4 points
22. Amjad FarrahMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX3 points
= Simone CampedelliMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX3 points
= Jussi Tiippana Subaru Impreza WRX Sti 3 points
25. Katsuhiko TaguchiMitsubishi Lancer Evo X2 points
26. Loris BaldacciMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX1 point
= Giorgio BaccoSubaru Impreza1 point

Junior Rally Championship (for drivers) (after 7 of 7 rounds):

1. Sebastien OgierCitroen C2 S160042 points
2. Aaron BurkartCitroen C2 S160034 points
3. Martin ProkopCitroen C2 S160032 points
4. Shaun GallagherCitroen C2 S160030 points
5. Michal KosciuszkoSuzuki Swift S160022 points
= Alessandro BettegaRenault Clio R322 points
7. Patrik SandellRenault Clio S160021 points
8. Jaan MolderSuzuki Swift S160011 points
9. Stefano AlbertiniRenault Clio9 points
10. Gilles SchammelRenault Clio R38 points
= Simone BertolottiRenault Clio Sport8 points
= Florian NiegelSuzuki Swift S16008 points
13. Kevin AbbringRenault Clio R37 points
14. Pierre CampanaRenault Clio R3 MAXI6 points
15. Pierre MarcheSuzuki Swift5 points
16. Andrea CortinovisRenault Clio4 points
17. Hans Weijs JrCitroen C2-R2 Max2 points
18. Francesco FanariCitroen C2 R21 point
= Milos KomljenovicRenault Clio R31 point

Note: The Rally Japan did not count as part of the Junior World Rally Championship. The J-WRC season ended in Corsica.



Loading Comments...