The FIA has unveiled the entry list for the Rally Ireland, the opening round of the World Rally Championship, with Urmo Aava down to drive a Stobart Motorsport prepared Ford Focus.

The Estonian driver, who will be entering his second season in the WRC class, joins Matthew Wilson and Henning Solberg for the opening round of 2009.

According to the official WRC website, Aava is expected to drive a Ford Focus RS on eight of this year's twelve events, competing in Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Italy, Poland, Finland, Spain and Great Britain.

After several years as a Suzuki driver in the Junior World Rally Championship, Aava and co-driver Kuldar Sikk graduated to the WRC class full-time in 2008 driving a PH-Sport run Citroen C4 WRC under the World Rally Team Estonia banner.

Currently holding a best result of fourth place from the 2008 Acropolis Rally, Aava has won five stages during his time in WRC. He completed the season 11th in the overall standings despite only competing in ten events.

He will be Stobart's nominated driver in Ireland, alongside Wilson.



Loading Comments...