Nasser Al-Attiyah has taken the lead on the Dakar Rally following the fifth stage on Wednesday.

Al-Attiyah, who had been running second behind Carlos Sainz, completed the stage between Neuquen and San Rafael in 5 hours 53.06 seconds, which was enough to promote him up to P1 overall.

Sainz meanwhile was only eighth through SS5 due to mechanical problems and thus drops to third in the overall standings, with stage winner Giniel de Villiers moving up to second.

Dieter Depping completed the stage in second, with Robby Gordon third and overall leader Al-Attiyah fourth. Mark Miller and Luc Alphand rounded out the top six.

Defending champion Stephane Peterhansel had a late scare and subsequently picked up a 15 minute penalty.

"We descended a sand dune and were heading for the foot of a second dune, when the Mitsubishi hit a patch of camel grass and flipped over," he explained. "The impact damaged the bodywork and the radiator and this affected the temperature of the engine, causing it to rise. Now I hope that the mechanics can repair the car here at the service park."

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions on SS5:

1. Giniel de Villiers Volkswagen Touareg 5hrs 47m 3s
2. Dieter DeppingVolkswagen Touareg +0hrs 02m 18s
3. Robby GordonHummer H3+0hrs 04m 12s
4. Nasser Al-AttiyahBMW X3 CC+0hrs 05m 23s
5. Mark Miller Volkswagen Touareg +0hrs 08m 59s
6. Luc Alphand Mitsubishi Racing Lancer +0hrs 10m 02s

Argentina-Chile Dakar 2009 - Positions after SS5:

1. Nasser Al-AttiyahBMW X3 CC18hrs 44m 37s
2. Giniel de Villiers Volkswagen Touareg +0hrs 02m 24s
3. Carlos Sainz Volkswagen Touareg +0hrs 06m 33s
4. Mark Miller Volkswagen Touareg +0hrs 19m 55s
5. Nani Roma Mitsubishi Racing Lancer +0hrs 24m 29s
6. Stephane Peterhansel Mitsubishi Racing Lancer +0hrs 28m 44s



Loading Comments...