Carlos Sainz extended his lead on the eighth stage of the Dakar Rally as he once again posted the quickest time.

The Spaniard led a VW 1-2-3 on the stage and is now over ten minutes ahead overall at the front of the pack.

Sunday's stage saw bike honours go to Cyril Despres but Marc Coma continues to lead with the event now on Chilean soil for the second week of competition.