Suzuki has set its sights on winning back the FIA Junior World Rally Championship title in 2009 and wrestling the laurels off Citroen, who came out top in '08 thanks to Sebastien Ogier.

Suzuki Sport Europe will expand to a three-car line-up this season, with Michal Kosciuszko staying on, having taken his debut J-WRC win on the Rally d'Italia Sardegna last year.

2008 J-WRC vice-champion Aaron Burkart meanwhile joins the squad - swapping his Citroen C2 S1600 for a Suzuki Swift S1600, while Italian Simone Bertolotti gears up for his second year in the Junior series.

Thus far though, only nine competitors have entered the 2009 Junior World Rally Championship and Citroen's bid will be headed by Martin Prokop.

"We will set our primary goal this year to claim the JWRC champion title once again. To achieve this aim, we have expanded from a two car team to three," said Mr. Ishii, the team manager of Suzuki Sport Europe.

"Luckily, we can support Michal again as we did last year, and Aaron who took second position in the 2008 JWRC.

"In addition, we have also a young Italian driver Simone. They are all talented and each driver has different characteristics.

"As ever Suzuki Sport Europe will endeavour to attain the highest standard of support and assistance to our drivers in our efforts to claim the 2009 JWRC title."

Suzuki last won the Junior World Rally Championship title in 2007 - when Per-Gunnar Andersson did the business, just like he did in 2004 with the Suzuki Ignis Super 1600.



Loading Comments...