Malcolm Wilson wants to see the Stobart VK M-Sport Ford Rally Team notch up 'regular' podiums this year.

The M-Sport-run squad will take in its fourth full season in the World Rally Championship in 2009, with Matthew Wilson and Henning Solberg both returning and both due to take in all 12 rounds.

Estonian pilot Urmo Aava meanwhile has also been added to the roster and he is scheduled to compete in eight rounds. The nominated points' scorers for the squad will be selected on a round-by-round basis with Wilson Jr and Aava initially getting the nod for the season opening, Rally Ireland, later this month.

The target of regular podiums however, is a pretty ambitious one and last year the squad only managed it twice - with Gigi Galli third in Sweden and Francois Duval third in Germany.

"It is shaping up to be a very exciting season for the team," said Wilson Sr. "The driver line-up of Matthew, Henning and now Urmo Aava has the potential to deliver very good results, and the Ford Focus WRC will once again be an extremely competitive package.

"The main aim for the season will be to build on last year's results and regularly score podium finishes. With a number of new events on the calendar - particularly in the first half of the season - and some significant rule changes, the Stobart team is looking forward to the challenge the FIA World Rally Championship will offer in 2009."

"We are delighted to be involved in the World Rally Championship once again and are very excited about the team's prospects in 2009," added Stobart Group CEO Andrew Tinkler.

"Stobart Group remains committed to its motorsport programme due to the fantastic return it receives in terms of global media exposure and business-to-business opportunities.

"We hope to see the Stobart drivers challenging for honours throughout the championship's 12 rounds and continuing to fly the flag for the team at the premier level of rallying."



Loading Comments...