Dani Sordo posted the quickest time for Citroen as the crews tackled the shakedown stage for the third round of the World Rally Championship in Cyprus.

Sordo posted a quickest time of 3min 33secs during the short 3.35km test close to the Limassol rally base, with the shakedown being run on asphalt ahead of the opening day of the event tomorrow where crews will run on tarmac stages but using gravel tyres.

"In general, everything is okay," Sordo insisted afterwards. "If it rains tomorrow then it is going to be slippery, but that will affect everyone."

Sordo was followed on the times by Petter Solberg ahead of his second outing in the Citroen Xsara entered by his own Petter Solberg World Rally Team, with the Norwegian benefitting from a new engine fitted to the car ahead of the event, while Citroen Junior Team driver Sebastien Ogier was third. Indeed, Citroen locked out the top four slots with Sebastien Loeb in fourth.

Jari-Matti Latvala was the quickest of the Ford men in fifth, with Evgeny Novikov completing the top six.

Shakedown times - top 15:

1. Daniel SordoCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC03mins 33.0secs M
2. Petter SolbergPS WRT Citroen Xsara WRC03mins 33.3secs A8
3. Sebastien OgierCitroen Junior Team C4 WRC03mins 34.0secs A8
4. Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WRT C4 WRC 03mins 34.5secs M
5. Jari-Matti LatvalaBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 03mins 34.7secs M
6. Evgeny NovikovCitroen Junior Team C4 WRC03mins 35.1secs MT
7. Mikko HirvonenBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 03mins 35.3secs M
8. Conrad RauteachCitroen Junior Team C4 WRC03mins 35.8secs MT
9. Henning SolbergStobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 03mins 37.3secs MT
10. Matthew WilsonStobart VK Ford Focus RS WRC 03mins 37.3secs MT
11. Khalid Al QassimiBP Ford Abu Dhabi Focus RS WRC 03mins 41.5secs A8
12. Federico VillagraMunchi's Ford Focus RS WRC 03mins 43.1secs M
13. Armindo AraujoMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX03mins 45.7secs P
14. Simone CampedelliMitsubishi Lancer Evo IX03mins 47.3secs P
15. Nasser Al-AttiyahSubaru Impreza N1403mins 52.7secs P



Loading Comments...