Citroen number one driver Sebastien Loeb came through to take his eighth victory of the year today on the Wales Rally GB, the final round in the 2010 World Rally Championship and the last ever event for the current spec World Rally Cars.

Loeb led for much of the event, and while Petter Solberg kept him honest on Saturday, the Norwegian was unable to maintain the pressure today. Indeed Loeb won both tests this morning to more than double his overnight lead and he could then pace himself through the repeat runs and to the finish in Cardiff. Seb eventually triumphed by 19.1 seconds.

After Solberg in second, Jari-Matti Latvala was third and as a result secures second in the 2010 WRC drivers' championship - just ahead of 'Hollywood' and Sebastien Ogier, who drops down to fourth in the standings after crashing out in the first stage on Saturday and failing to score. Latvala could possibly have won too, but for a puncture in the final test on Friday, that cost him more than a minute and dropped him from P1 to P6.

Mikko Hirvonen was fourth, just behind his BP Ford Abu Dhabi WRT team-mate, followed by Dani Sordo - 18.9 seconds adrift - and then Stobart Ford's Henning Solberg, more than 4 minutes further back.

Britain's Matthew Wilson was seventh with F1 2007 world champion, Kimi Raikkonen eighth and Mads Ostberg ninth. Andreas Mikkelsen took the final 'senior' WRC point in tenth - as well as the SWRC victory.

Full report and result to follow...

To read the full report - CLICK HERE.

To see the full result - CLICK HERE.

To view the latest championship standings - CLICK HERE.



Loading Comments...