Sebastien Ogier was quickest in shakedown for the second round of the World Rally Championship season in Mexico.

The Citroen driver covered the 5.13km run through the San Juan de Otates in 2min 51.7secs, which meant he was quicker than Petter Solberg by just two tenths of a second. That was despite Solberg damaging the steering on his car, with repairs being carried out ahead of the first stage on Thursday evening.

Reigning champion Sebastien Loeb was third fastest as Citroen locked out the top three times, with Jari-Matti Latvala the quickest of the Ford drivers in fourth. Stobart pair Mads Ostberg and Matthew Wilson rounded out the top six.

Shakedown was delayed by nearly an hour as event organisers were forced to move a number of spectators who were in an unsafe area on the side of the road.

"There were too many spectators on two corners and Jacek Bartos [the FIA safety delegate] said they must move positions before the test could continue," rally director Patrick Suberville said. "Naturally we agreed with this decision and obviously helped to get the spectators to stand in a safe area. We normally get a lot of spectators for the shakedown but normally at the start and finish of this stage. This time they were in other areas."

Rally Mexico Shakedown times - Top Ten:

1. Sebastien OgierCitroen Total WRT DS3 WRC2min 51.7secs
2. Petter SolbergPSWRT Citroen DS3 WRC2min 51.9secs
3. Sebastien LoebCitroen Total WRT DS3 WRC2min 52.9secs
4. Jari-Matti LatvalaFord Abu Dhabi Fiesta RS WRC2min 53.3secs
5. Mads OstbergM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC2min 55.3secs
6. Matthew WilsonM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC2min 55.5secs
7. Mikko HirvonenFord Abu Dhabi Fiesta RS WRC2min 55.9secs
8. Federico VillagraMunchi's Ford Fiesta RS WRC2min 56.4secs
9. Evgeny NovikovM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC2min 56.5secs
10. Henning SolbergM-Sport Stobart Ford Fiesta RS WRC2min 57.7secs



Loading Comments...