The FIA's World Motor Sport Council confirmed the calendar for the 2012 World Rally Championship this week.

There are no changes as such to the version issued back in June, other than it confirms the October date for Rally d'Italia (with the event due to run from October 18-21, two weeks prior to the final round of the season in Spain), while the Acropolis Rally will run from May 25-27 (it had been that provisionally or June 3).

In total there will be thirteen events next season, with Rallye Monte Carlo returning to the WRC fold for the first time since 2008, while Rally GB shifts from season closer in November to a mid-September slot.

Meanwhile, the FIA also confirmed the eight events that will make up the PWRC and the eight rounds that will form the SWRC with Monte Carlo, New Zealand and Spain hosting both championships.

The full schedule is as follows:

2012 FIA World Rally Championship - calendar#:

January 17-22 Rallye Monte Carlo PWRC / SWRC
February 9-12 Rally Sweden SWRC
March 8-11 Rally Mexico PWRC
March 29-April 1 Rally Portugal SWRC
April 27-29 Rally Argentina PWRC
May 25-27 Acropolis Rally PWRC
June 22-24 Rally New Zealand PWRC / SWRC
August 2-5 Rally Finland SWRC
August 24-26 Rallye Deutschland PWRC
September 13-16 Rally GB SWRC
October 4-7 Rallye de France - Alsace SWRC
October 18-21 Rally d'Italia PWRC
November 1-4 Rally de Espana PWRC / SWRC

# Note: The finish date given is the Sunday of the rally weekend. Itineraries are however subject to final confirmation by event organisers.

PWRC runners will nominate six events from eight / SWRC runners will nominate seven events from eight.



Loading Comments...