Wales Rally GB is to move back to a more traditional position at the end of the World Rally Championship season after the FIA confirmed the 2013 calendar at a meeting of its World Motor Sport Council.

There are no new events on the calendar, although Australia returns and takes the place of the New Zealand on the schedule.

With the Welsh event moving back to November, organisers will hope for a boost in the entry list after a disappointing line-up this year, not helped by the fact that potential entrants from national championships had still to conclude their regular campaigns.

Aside from confirming the calendar, the FIA has also announced a series of changes that will come into force from 2013 onwards.

In a bid to attract more entries, and to reduce costs, WRC Teams competing next year will now only have to compete in one non-European rally, although those teams must still nominate and take part in a minimum of seven events.

The various support championships will also be overhauled for the new season, with the SWRC and PWRC both being renamed.

"The structure of the support Championships has been revised to reflect the interests and demands of the competitors," the FIA said in a statement. "From 2013, the current Championship for S2000 cars will be replaced by the WRC-2 Championship including cars with four-wheel drive (R5, R4 and S2000). A specific cup for cars in the Group N category will also form part of the FIA WRC-2 Championship, and titles for teams, drivers and co-drivers will be awarded to those who have scored the most points in six of the seven events in which they have taken part.

"The current Production Car World Rally Championship will be replaced by the FIA WRC-3 Championship, including Group R cars with two-wheel drive (R3, R2 and R1). Titles for teams, drivers and co-drivers will be awarded to those who have scored the most points in five of the six events in which they have taken part.

"The current FIA WRC Academy will be re-named the FIA Junior WRC Championship."

2013 World Rally Championship title:

20/01Rallye Monte Carlo
10/02Rally Sweden
10/03Rally Mexico
14/04Rallye de Portugal
05/05Rally Argentina
02/06Acropolis Rally
23/06Rally d'Italia
04/08Rally Finland
TBCRallye Deutschland
15/09Rally Australia
06/10Rallye de France
27/10Rally de Espana
17/11Rally of Great Britain

The finish date given is the Sunday of the rally weekend. Itineraries are however subject to final confirmation by event organisers.



Loading Comments...