5th - Mikko HirvonenAverage poll score out of ten: 6.1Team: M-Sport WRTCar: Fiesta RS WRCChampionship position: 4thPoints: 126 points in WRCEvents: 13 (out of 13)Wins: 0Podiums: 3Best finish: 2ndStage wins: 7Power Stage wins: 0

Mikko Hirvonen concluded his last season in the WRC on a high with two podiums in the final two events. However, his return to M-Sport - the team with which he finished runner-up in the WRC Drivers' Championship four-times - was no fairytale.

Hirvonen retired on the Monte, the season opener, with mechanical issues and while he was a solid fourth in Sweden, he had to settle for eighth in Mexico, after electrical issues on Friday afternoon put him out. He had been running in a strong third.

Hirvonen then took a morale boosting second in Portugal, but had to wait until the penultimate round and the trip to Spain before he again stood on the rostrum. A mistake in Argentinia (missed a pace-note) and a fire in Sardinia (no fault of his own) all cost him and while he was fourth in Poland and then fifth in Finland, Germany, Australia and France, he never seemed to be quite as quick as expected and at times just seemed a bit lacklustre.

Mikko Hirvonen in Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year vote:World Rally Driver of the Year vote 2013: 14thWorld Rally Driver of the Year vote 2012: 6thWorld Rally Driver of the Year vote 2011: 10thWorld Rally Driver of the Year vote 2010: 10thWorld Rally Driver of the Year vote 2009: 2ndWorld Rally Driver of the Year vote 2008: 2nd

Crash.net's WRC Driver of the Year 2014 - results so far:6. Andreas Mikkelsen7. Elfyn Evans8. Dani Sordo9. Mads Ostberg10. Robert Kubica

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 30,000 votes were cast for the 2014 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.



Loading Comments...