Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier continues to lead Rally Poland following Saturday afternoon's curtailed second loop, but team-mate Andreas Mikkelsen has closed.

Ogier went into the repeat loop with a 7.2s advantage, and with SS14 cancelled on safety grounds, competitors only had two tests to tackle before heading to the regroup.

Mikkelsen outpaced Ogier in both stages, gaining 1.4s in SS15, when he was quickest, and then taking back a further 1.1s in SS16, when he was joint second, although like this morning, he again complained about hanging dust.

It means the two will now go to the SSS this evening, for the third run through Mikolajki Arena, split by 4.7s.

Meanwhile, Ott Tanak and Jari-Matti Latvala remained locked in a close scrap for third, 10 or so seconds further back. Latvala initially re-took third in SS15, before Tanak posted the best time in SS16 to inch back ahead, 2.4s the difference.

Hyundai's Hayden Paddon completes the top-five, with team-mate Thierry Neuville sixth, 20.4s adrift.

Former F1 ace and local star Robert Kubica is next up, followed by Kris Meeke, Mads Ostberg and Dani Sordo in positions 8 through to 10.

In WRC2, Esapekka Lappi remains more than 30s ahead of Skoda team-mate Pontus Tidemand. Karl Kruuda is third.

Day two of Rally Poland now concludes with Mikolajki Arena 3 - scheduled to start at 20.18 hours local time. Full itinerary for round seven in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 Rally Poland: Overall standings after Stage 16 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien OgierVolkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC2h 10m 38.0s M
2. Andreas MikkelsenVolkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC+0m 04.7s M
3. Ott TanakM-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRC+0m 15.4s M
4. Jari-Matti LatvalaVolkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC+0m 17.8s M
5. Hayden PaddonHyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC+0m 53.3s M
6. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +1m 13.7s M
7. Robert KubicaFord Fiesta RS WRC+1m 29.1s
8. Kris MeekeCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 37.4s M
9. Mads OstbergCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +1m 54.3s M
10. Dani SordoHyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +2m 15.4s M


11. Martin ProkopJipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4m 00.0s M
12. Esapekka LappiSkoda Fabia R5+4m 51.4s WRC2
13. Pontus TidemandSkoda Fabia R5+5m 29.2s WRC2
14. Karl KruudaCitroen DS 3 R5+6m 53.2s WRC2
15. Lorenzo BertelliFord Fiesta RS WRC+7m 46.4s M
16. Kevin AbbringHyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +7m 47.9s

WRC2 standings after Stage 16 (Top 3):

1. Esapekka LappiSkoda Fabia R52h 15m 29.4s WRC2
2. Pontus TidemandSkoda Fabia R5+0m 37.8s WRC2
3. Karl KruudaCitroen DS 3 R5+2m 01.8s WRC2

Notable retirements:

SS10/11. Elfyn EvansM-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRCSuspected water pump failure M

M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial


Loading Comments...