DTM star Mattias Ekstrom has claimed a dramatic victory in the World Rallycross Championship in Sweden after the initial winner Timmy Hansen was penalised for pushing in the final.

Ekstrom, who drives for Audi Sport Team Abt Sportsline in DTM and is a two-time champion, has become the fifth different winner in the 2015 World Rallycross championship after Hansen was demoted to second while Ford Olsbergs MSE driver Andreas Bakkerud claimed third place.

Reigning World RX champion Petter Solberg had grabbed the initiative as top qualifier in the intermediate stage but suffered heartbreak in the final as he beached his Citroen DS3 in the gravel on the final lap, breaking his steering. Despite his DNF in the final Solberg still heads the overall drivers championship with a useful 44-point lead over Johan Kristoffersson.

But glory belonged to Ekstrom who also claimed victory at Holjes for a second successive year.

"I'm happy for my guys and for myself, I feel this is a well deserved win," Ekstrom said. "I have no hard feelings towards Timmy, he deserves P2. He made a brave move passing me on the corner but everybody has to play by the rules of a World Championship.

"I did feel like I was robbed of the win so I'm pleased that the stewards made the decision that they did - it sets the level of the bar of how we should race."

Further back Marklund Motorsport's Topi Heikkinen took fourth place ahead of Latvian Reinis Nitiss in the fifth position in the Swedish final.



Loading Comments...