Volkswagen's Sebastien Ogier more or less maintained his overnight lead on Sunday's opening loop of RallyRACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada.

Ogier began the final day 54s up on team-mate, Jari-Matti Latvala, and after posting the third fastest time in SS18 and SS20, and the seventh best in SS19, he now heads to the regroup with a 49s cushion.

"I'm not in this position to take risks. This was the worst stage today for the chance of punctures so I took it easy," Ogier told the official WRC site after SS19.

Meanwhile, Jari-Matti Latvala continues to hold second, but VW Motorsport II pilot Andreas Mikkelsen has closed, winning the first two stages today to cut the gap from 2.9s overnight to just 0.9s.

"I'm fighting a little bit with the car because the extra spare wheel we have is making me understeer a bit. Maybe not the cleverest choice but we were in safe mode," Latvala said after responding by winning the final test of the loop.

"Not really a perfect stage, not really happy but a good morning loop," Mikkelsen added after coming in second in SS20, 0.5s slower. "Looks like we are set for an exciting repeat loop. I am trying to go as fast as I can without going absolutely crazy."

Behind, local star Dani Sordo remains fourth in his Hyundai, with Mads Ostberg now fifth and the lead Citroen, after team-mate Kris Meeke spun in SS19 and lost 10 seconds, dropping him back to P6.

Hyundai third driver Hayden Paddon holds seventh, 9.4s up on Thierry Neuville, while Ford privateer Martin Prokop and WRC2 class leader Pontus Tidemand round out the top ten.

Tidemand is now just 15.7s up on Jan Kopecky - his closest class rival, as he continues to play it "safe". Nasser Al-Attiyah holds third in WRC2, after Eric Camilli retired in SS19.

The event now concludes with repeat-runs through the opening three tests of the day. SS21, the 6.80km Els Guiamets 2 test, is due to start at 10.10 hours local time [09.10 hours UK time]. Full itinerary for round twelve in WRC 2015 available - HERE.

2015 RallyRACC Catalunya-Costa Daurada: Overall standings after Stage 20 (Top 10):

1. Sebastien OgierVolkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC2h 57m 37.4s M
2. Jari-Matti LatvalaVolkswagen Motorsport Polo R WRC+0m 49.0s M
3. Andreas MikkelsenVolkswagen Motorsport II Polo R WRC+0m 49.9s M
4. Dani Sordo Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +1m 04.8s M
5. Mads OstbergCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC+1m 50.1s M
6. Kris MeekeCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC+1m 56.9s M
7. Hayden PaddonHyundai Motorsport N i20 WRC+2m 04.9s M
8. Thierry Neuville Hyundai Motorsport i20 WRC +2m 14.3s M
9. Martin ProkopJipocar Czech National Team Ford Fiesta RS WRC +4m 41.6s M
10. Pontus TidemandSkoda Fabia R5+8m 36.6s WRC2


11. Jan KopeckySkoda Fabia R5+8m 36.6s WRC2
12. Nasser Al-AttiyahSkoda Fabia R5+12m 22.1s WRC2
13. Armin KremerSkoda Fabia R5+12m 46.2s WRC2
14. Robert KubicaFord Fiesta RS WRC+12m 49.5s
15. Yuriy ProtasovFord Fiesta RRC+13m 22.1s WRC2
16. Khalid Al-QassimiCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC +16m 08.9s

WRC2 standings after Stage 20 (Top 3):

1. Pontus TidemandSkoda Fabia R53h 06m 14.0s WRC2
2. Jan KopeckySkoda Fabia R5+0m 15.7s WRC2
3. Nasser Al-AttiyahSkoda Fabia R5+3m 45.5s WRC2

Notable retirements:

SS2. Lorenzo BertelliFord Fiesta RS WRCRolled M

SS9/SS10. Stephane LefebvreCitroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT DS 3 WRC Retired on road section to SS10 - mechanical**
SS10. Lorenzo BertelliFord Fiesta RS WRCCrashed M*
SS11. Ott TanakM-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRCTook a wheel off M**
SS11. Esapekka LappiSkoda Fabia R5Crashed WRC2
SS13. Elfyn EvansM-Sport WRT Ford Fiesta RS WRCOff road M**

SS19. Eric CamilliFord Fiesta R5Retired WRC2

*denotes re-started on Saturday under Rally 2
**denotes re-started on Sunday under Rally 2
M denotes Manufacturer entry

all times unofficial



Loading Comments...