WRC Driver of the Year 2015: 2nd

2nd - Kris MeekeAverage poll score out of ten: 7Team: Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRTCar: DS 3 WRCChampionship position: 5thPoints: 112 pointsEvents: 13 out of 13 (all WRC) Wins: 1Podiums: 3 Best finish: 1st Stage wins: 13Power Stage wins: 1

Ending Great Britain's WRC victory drought - which had stretched back some 13 years to when the late Colin McRae won the Safari in a Ford Focus RS WRC - Kris Meeke's 2015 season was one of highs and, also unfortunately, lows.

The Briton was the only one to really consistently challenge the Volkswagen's and in addition to his win in Argentina, he also finished on the podium in Australia and took second on the season finale, Wales Rally GB.

However, a poor start to the season, and an error-strewn run mid-season - in Sardinia, Poland, Finland and Germany - did take the shine off the year somewhat, although at the end he scored only 4 points less than team-mate, Mads Ostberg.

He also did enough to retain his Citroen seat, inking a three-year deal with the manufacturer for 2016-2018, although Citroen won't have a factory presence next season.

In your vote you gave him an average mark of 7 out of ten. Do you think that score is about right? Share your opinions simply by clicking on the 'Post your comments' link below.

Kris Meeke in the WRC Driver of the Year poll:Top 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2014: 3rdTop 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2013: N/ATop 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2012: N/ATop 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2011: 7thTop 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2010: N/ATop 10 WRC Driver of the Year vote 2009: N/ATop 10 Driver of the Year vote 2008: N/A

About the vote:
Rather than repeat the Drivers' World Championship standings, the World Rally Driver of the Year poll asks readers to take into account factors such as machinery, performance relative to a team-mate, driving style, experience, injuries, progress and personality just as much as race results.

Over 3,000 votes were cast for the 2015 Crash.net WRC Driver of the Year poll, where viewers awarded each of this year's full-time participants a mark out of ten for an average rating.



Loading Comments...