Sebastien Loeb has extended his advantage in the 2016 Dakar Rally to almost eight minutes after a dominant stage victory.

The nine-time WRC champion comfortable led proceedings in stage five to beat fellow WRC star Carlos Sainz by 22 seconds on the Jujuy Uyuni stage and more importantly beating his nearest rivals Stephane Peterhansel by three minutes to open up his overall lead to 7m 48s.

Sainz's impressive second place on stage five enabled him to jump up to third in the overall standings, 13m 26s off of Loeb, and gives Team Peugeot Total and 1-2-3 lead as 2015 Dakar Rally winner Nasser Al-Attiyah slipped to fourth overall for Axion X-Raid Team Mini after finishing fourth on the Jujuy Uyuni stage, seven seconds off of Peterhansel in third.

Former two-time WRC champion Mikko Hirvonen continued to struggle to maintain the pace of the leaders by finishing the stage almost eight minutes off Loeb in sixth place and seventh in the overall stages.

Despite dominating the Dakar Rally so far, Peugeot did suffer with Cyril Despres' machine after it lost well over an hour of time due to electrical issues, with the French driver needing to be towed by Romain Dumas to the stage finish.



Loading Comments...