European Rally Championship promoter Eurosport Events is set to produce a total of EUR200,000 in prize money over the course of the 2016 season.

In a bid to support and promote Europe's top talent in rallying, the ERA has set up its biggest prize fund with each of the top-seven placed eligible drivers in the final classification of each round given a proportion of the prize fund. Each ERC event winner will receive EUR7,000 with the remaining money divided proportionally between the remaining six fastest finishers.

All drivers registered for the ERC using tyres from one of the championship's partner suppliers, Michelin and Pirelli, will be eligible, including those in ERC2 and ERC3. Last year 38 different drivers that competed in the ERC benefited from the prize fund.

ERC co-ordinator Jean-Baptiste Ley hopes the prize money will help drivers on small budgets to compete with financial stability and enable them to continue racing in the future.

"It takes a significant financial commitment to compete in a top-level championship such as the ERC," Ley said. "This substantial prize fund provision will go a long way towards helping some of those drivers on a restricted budget compete on more events and therefore grow their experience for the future."

The 2016 ERC season starts in Latvia for its opening round on the 5-7 February.

Prize money distribution at ERC events in 2016:

First position: EUR7000
Second position: EUR5000
Third position: EUR3000
Fourth position: EUR2000
Fifth position: EUR1000
Sixth position: EUR1000
Seventh position: EUR1000



Loading Comments...