Outgoing Volkswagen motorsport director Jost Capito says the German manufacturer is in its strongest ever position in its 50-year motorsport history and is confident he's leaving the company after building solid foundations.

Capito is set to join McLaren as its new Chief Executive Officer ahead of the 2016 Formula 1 World Championship season having overseen Volkswagen storm to three consecutive titles since 2013 in the World Rally Championship.

With the German manufacturer set to celebrate its 50th anniversary of motorsport commitments, Capito feels VW is currently enjoying a peak of its sporting success and is optimistic it can continue after he leaves to join Woking-based McLaren Racing.

"As Volkswagen Motorsport turns 50, it is in a better position in motorsport than ever before," Capito said. "It also boasts a well-rounded programme: it is active globally with the World Rally Championship, which continues to grow, there's a new rally being held in China in 2016 and Toyota is set to join as a manufacturer in 2017.

"On the racetrack, we promote new talent in Formula 3, and we are moving into customer sport with the Golf TCR. The TCR is also getting bigger and bigger, with dozens of championships springing up. And we are well established in Rallycross - a modern, up-and-coming sports discipline - in the USA. As such, Volkswagen has a future-proof and forward-looking motorsport set-up."

With Volkswagen still searching for Capito's successor the German will remain with the manufacturer until a smooth transition can be achieved.

At McLaren, Capito will work underneath Ron Dennis who retains overall control as CEO of McLaren Group, while former McLaren Racing CEO Jonathan Neale switches to Chief Operating Officer of McLaren Technology. Eric Boullier will also remain as Racing Director of McLaren's F1 team.

Volkswagen is preparing for the WRC season opener Rallye Monte-Carlo between 21-24 January as it aims to defend its manufacturer and driver world titles with drivers Sebastien Ogier, Jari-Matti Latvala and second squad driver Andreas Mikkelsen.



Loading Comments...