Rally de Portugal has secured 80 entries for this year's event, including 19 WRC machines, which is more than any round since Rally Sweden in 2013.

With Citroen's truncated World Rally Championship campaign seeing the manufacturer return to action in Portugal three entries are added in the shape of Kris Meeke, Stephane Lefebvre and Khalid Al Qassimi who will compete against the WRC regulars of Volkswagen, M-Sport Ford and Hyundai plus a number of privateer regulars.

Hyundai has expanded its own entry to four cars; three new generation i20 WRC machines with the addition of test driver Kevin Abbring in last year's i20 WRC.

Elsewhere, a bumper 25 cars line up in WRC 2, including M-Sport's Elfyn Evans, plus six in WRC 3, 11 in Junior WRC and ten in the Drive DMACK Fiesta Trophy.

12 months ago Jari-Matti Latvala reignited his season with victory at the Portuguese event with Volkswagen Motorsport and will be keen to repeat the feat after crashing out of the lead at Rally Argentina last month.

Defending WRC champion Sebastien Ogier currently heads the drivers' standings with a healthy 39-point lead over nearest challenger Rally Argentina winner Hayden Paddon.



Loading Comments...