The World Motor Sport Council has rubber stamped the move to alter the running order rules for 2017 after continued complaints from drivers this year.

This season drivers have had to attack the opening two days of WRC events in the actual championship standings' order meaning reigning champion Sebastien Ogier would often get the worst of the roads by starting first.

Upon consultation, the rules have been tweaked to have the old running order in place for Day 1 before reverting to the traditional reserve order of the actual rally classification for Day 2 and Day 3.

P1 drivers restarting under Rally 2 rules will continue to start at the end of the P1 group, while the initial start order for the opening round Rallye Monte-Carlo in January will be determined by the WRC championship standings from 2016.

In addition, a new 'WRC Trophy' has been launched for competitors using pre-2017 specification cars.

The maximum number of qualifying rallies is seven and the driver and co-driver who have scored the highest total of points in six of the qualifying rallies will win the titles. If less than five competitors register, no titles will be awarded.

The 2017 FIA World Rally Championship calendar:

20-22 January Monte Carlo
10-12 February Sweden
10-12 March Mexico*
7-9 April France
28-30 April Argentina
19-21 May Portugal
9-11 June Italy*
30 June - 2 July Poland
28-30 July Finland
19-20 August Germany
6-8 October Spain*
27-29 October Great Britain
17-19 November Australia

*Subject to ASN confirmation



Loading Comments...