Turkey will return to the FIA World Rally Championship calendar in 2018 after eight years away following the World Motor Sport Council's approval of next year's schedule on Thursday.

Turkey last played host to a WRC event back in 2010, won by Sebastien Loeb, but will replace Poland on next year's 13-round calendar that was issued by the FIA following the latest WMSC meeting.

“The 2018 season brings an enticing blend of WRC tradition and history, in the form of classic and long-standing rounds such as Sweden, Argentina and Finland, with a welcome return to Turkey,” WRC Promoter managing director Oliver Ciesla said.

“Turkey is a hugely important automotive market, in terms of sales and manufacturing. Record sales of almost a million vehicles were recorded in 2016 and the sporting reasons for its reintroduction are matched by a compelling business rationale.

“We offer manufacturers the opportunity to showcase their products in a championship focused on production-based cars, and I’m delighted Turkey’s return was unanimously supported by our participating manufacturers."

2018 FIA World Rally Championship Calendar

1. Rally Monte Carlo – January 28
2. Rally Sweden – February 18
3. Rally Mexico – March 11
4. Tour de Corse – April 8
5. Rally Argentina – April 29
6. Rally de Portugal – May 20
7. Rally Italia – June 10
8. Rally Finland – July 29
9. Rally Germany – August 19
10. Rally Turkey – September 16
11. Rally Great Britain – October 7
12. Rally Spain – October 28
13. Rally Australia – November 18


Loading Comments...