Stephane Sarrazin won Giru di Corsica-Tour de Corse on Saturday, the 2014 FIA European Rally Championship finale, following a thrilling battle for top spot with fellow French Ford Fiesta RRC driver Bryan Bouffier.

Sarrazin, who was racing in the Six Hours of Shanghai World Endurance Championship event last weekend, started Saturday's final leg 1.7s in front of Bouffier but wasted little time in pulling clear of his compatriot with a hat-trick of stage bests.

His performance on the damp sections of stage eight was particularly noteworthy after he went 7.5s quicker than Bouffier.

Sarrazin's victory was then all but assured when Bouffier spun into a ditch on the penultimate test.

Sarrazin eventually beat Bouffier by 18.9 seconds and in doing so he becomes the ninth different winner from 11 rounds in this year's ERC.

"It's just amazing, like a dream," said Sarrazin, who was competing in a First Motorsport Ford Fiesta RRC alongside Corsican co-driver Jacques-Julien Renucci. "I did two rallies this season, the ones I like most and to win them both is just so amazing. I had a good battle all weekend with Bryan. We did a great job with Jacques-Julien and the team, the car was good so we push and enjoy. I didn't take big risks when it was tricky. To win Corsica is more than a dream."

Kevin Abbring took third and a richly deserved podium finish in his Peugeot Rally Academy 208T16 with young French driver Eric Camilli impressing on his ERC debut in fourth overall despite a persistent exhaust issue on his Peugeot 207 Super 2000. Camilli's performance earned him the Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy.

With Julien Maurin retiring on the road section heading to stage 10, Romain Dumas finished fifth in his striking Porsche 997 with Bruno Magalhaes sixth, local hero Jean-Mathieu Leandri seventh and Jaromir Tarabus eighth after nursing a gear selector issue in the closing stages.

Leandri's fellow Corsican Pierre-Antoine Guglielmi (Renault Clio R3) won ERC 2WD in ninth with Laurent Reuche completing the top 10 in Renault's all-new Clio R3T.

Kajetan Kajetanowicz restarted on leg two following his exit with driveshaft failure on Friday's first stage. However, a double puncture on stage seven meant he was unable to continue to stage eight and retired. While the LOTOS Rally Team star lost out on his bid to finish third in the final drivers' standings, he completed his maiden season in the European championship as the ERC Gravel Master.

Craig Breen also returned to the action on Saturday after a transmission glitch forced him out on stage four. He scored several top five stage times in his Peugeot 208T16 and finishes the season third in the final table behind Sepp Wiegand, who was unable to start in Corsica after a fire destroyed his Skoda Auto Deutschland Fabia in testing on Monday.

Meanwhile, while a crash on Friday's final test meant Esapekka Lappi and co-driver Janne Ferm were unable to tackle Saturday's closing five stages, the Skoda Motorsport crew will head home to their native Finland as the new European champions having scored sufficient points earlier in their hugely impressive campaign, which included three wins and 25 fastest stage times.

Vitaliy Pushkar and Ivan Mishyn secured the ERC Production Car Cup with Zoltan Bessenyey and Yulianna Nyirfas taking ERC 2WD honours for a second year in succession, while Stephane Lefebvre just did enough to beat Andrea Crugnola to the inaugural ERC Junior title.

Top 10 positions (after 11 stages, 251.56 kilometres)

1. Stephane Sarrazin (FRA)/Jacques-Julien Renucci (FRA) Ford Fiesta RRC 2h36m48.4s
2. Bryan Bouffier (FRA)/Xavier Panseri (FRA) Ford Fiesta RRC +18.9s
3. Kevin Abbring (NED)/Sebastian Marshall (GBR) Peugeot 208T16 +1m38.2s
4. Eric Camilli (FRA)/Benjamin Veillas (FRA) Peugeot 207 S2000 +2m24.1s
5. Romain Dumas (FRA)/Denis Giraudet (FRA) Porsche 997 RGT +5m41.9s
6. Bruno Magalhaes (PRT)/Carlos Magalhaes (PRT) Peugeot 208T16 +6m29.9s
7. Jean-Mathieu Leandri (FRA)/Fabrice Gordon (FRA) Ford Fiesta R5 +7m33.5s
8. Jaromir Tarabus (CZE)/Daniel Trunk?t (CZE) Skoda Fabia Super 2000 +7m51.3s
9. Pierre-Antoine Guglielmi (FRA)/Jean-Noel Vesperini (FRA) Renault Clio R3 +10m19.0s
10. Laurent Reuche (CHE)/Jean Deriaz (CHE) Renault Clio R3T +13m21.0s

FIA ERC Production Car: Fr?d?ric Lefebvre (FRA)/Pierre-Marien Leonardi (FRA) Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution VIIIFIA ERC 2WD: Pierre-Antoine Guglielmi (FRA)/Jean-Noel Vesperini (FRA) Renault Clio R3FIA ERC Junior: Andrea Crugnola (ITA)/Michele Ferrara (ITA) Peugeot 208 R2Colin McRae ERC Flat Out Trophy: Eric Camilli (FRA)