Sebastien Ogier has sealed the 2017 World Rally Championship title thanks to third place at Wales Rally GB as Elfyn Evans claimed a historic first career win for himself and DMACK.

The Welsh driver sprinted into an early lead and rarely looked challenged which enabled him to ease the pace on the final day to clinch victory by 37.3s from Hyundai’s Thierry Neuville, who grabbed the Power Stage victory.

The victory marks a maiden career WRC win for Evans and DMACK, while he also became the first Welsh winner of the event and the first British driver since Richard Burns in 2000.

Behind Evans the 2017 WRC title was decided thanks to Ogier’s third place which meant mathematically he is clear of Ott Tanak and Neuville to seal the championship with a round to spare.

But Ogier was made to sweat for it having gone off the road on Sunday before completing the Power Stage with just three working brakes due to the damage. As a result, he conceded second place to Neuville but the rostrum was still enough to take a fifth consecutive world championship.

New Hyundai signing Andreas Mikkelsen secured a dramatic fourth place ahead of Toyota’s Jari-Matti Latvala on the final stage of Wales Rally GB while Tanak faded after Saturday’s night stages to take sixth place for M-Sport Ford.

Kris Meeke recovered from a difficult start to his home round by taking seventh for Citroen, after team-mate Craig Breen dropped out of contention with a puncture, while Hayden Paddon was a distant eighth.

Esapekka Lappi kept ahead of Dani Sordo in the final points places, while Pontus Tidemand claimed a comfortable victory in WRC2 for Skoda Motorsport over Eric Camilli in the M-Sport Ford.