Some motorsport championships are still to finish but the 2011 World Superbike series is already taking shape nicely with now 19 entrants confirmed for next season.

While most of the top positions had been decided, recent weeks have seen Kawasaki confirm a three-man line-up with Chris Vermeulen, Joan Lascorz and Tom Sykes, while Ten Kate Honda put an end to rumours that it would follow Suzuki's lead and drop to just one bike by signing BMW-exile Ruben Xaus.

Almost as significant was the announcement that BMW would get an exciting satellite operative in the form of the 'Italia' team that crushed the opposition in the Superstock 1000 series. Its title winner Ayrton Badovini was rightly been given the opportunity to return to the WSBK stage, alongside former champion and star signing James Toseland.

Meanwhile, Supersonic Ducati have confirmed it will enter Badovini's SSTK rival Maxime Berger next season, while Pedercini Kawasaki will swell numbers further when it reveals its riders for 2011.

2011 World Superbike grid thus far:

Aprilia Alitalia
Max Biaggi
Leon Camier

Suzuki Alstare
Michel Fabrizio

Yamaha Sterilgarda
Eugene Laverty
Marco Melandri

Ten Kate Honda
Jonathan Rea
Ruben Xaus

BMW Motorrad
Leon Haslam
Troy Corser

Kawasaki SRT
Chris Vermeulen
Joan Lascorz
Tom Sykes

Althea Ducati
Carlos Checa

PATA Aprilia
Noriyuki Haga

Liberty Ducati
Sylvain Guintoli
Jakub Smrz

BMW Italia
James Toseland
Ayrton Badovini

Supersonic Ducati
Maxime Berger

Pedercini Kawasaki



Loading Comments...