For the second year in a row, you have voted Tom Sykes as your victor in's annual World Superbike Rider of the Year poll.

Last year you recognised the Kawasaki rider for his efforts in getting to within half a point of an unexpected title win, so it is perhaps only fitting that you have done the same in 2013 following his run to Kawasaki's first WSBK championship in two decades.

Averaging 9.49 out of ten, Sykes's victory here was comprehensive too, with a significant margin over second place man Eugene Laverty, who amassed an average score of 8.65, and third place Sylvain Guintoli with 7.24.

It was a close run thing further back, with Chaz Davies faring slightly better than his BMW team-mate Marco Melandri in fourth position, while Loris Baz averaged just 0.001 more than Jonathan Rea to secure sixth, ahead of Davide Giugliano, late-comer Toni Elias and Leon Camier, who remains without a ride for 2014.

Outside the top ten, top rookie Jules Cluzel leads the best of the rest in 11th place, ahead of Leon Haslam and Michel Fabrizio - who was only 13th here having finished seventh overall. Meanwhile, Carlos Checa - a winner of this poll in 2011 when he won the title, bows out of the series as only your 17th most impressive rider of 2013.

2013 WSBK Rider of the Year: Full Results

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing 9.492. Eugene Laverty IRL Aprilia Racing 8.653. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Aprilia Racing 7.244. Chaz Davies GBR BMW GoldBet Italia 7.055. Marco Melandri ITA BMW GoldBet Italia 6.62 6. Loris Baz FRA Kawasai 6.417. Jonathan Rea GBR Pata Honda 6.418. Davide Giugliano ITA Althea Aprilia 6.299. Toni Elias ESP Red Devils Roma Aprilia 5.78 10. Leon Camier GBR FIXI Crescent Suzuki 5.6

11. Jules Cluzel FRA Fixi Crescent Suzuki 5.49
12. Leon Haslam GBR Pata Honda 4.75
13. Michel Fabrizio ITA Red Devils Roma / Pata Honda 4.62
14. Ayrton Badovini ITA Alstare Ducati 4.46
15. Mark Aitchison AUS Pedercini Kawasaki 4.17
16. Max Neukirchner GER MR Ducati 3.89
17. Carlos Checa ESP Alstare Ducati 3.89
18. Federico Sandi ITA Pedercini Kawasaki 3.11
19. Vittorio Iannuzzo ITA Grillini BMW 2.88



Loading Comments...