A confirmed 26 riders will line-up for the World Superbike Championship in 2015 after the provisional entry list was revealed a month ahead of the opening round in Australia.

The entry list reveals little beyond previous announcements, with the only notable inclusion being that of Gabor Rizmayer on the second of the Team Toth BMWs, while Pedercini Kawasaki is still to fill its second seat alongside David Salom.

Though the entry list is one short of last year - when it featured the EVO category and the non-scoring Bimotas -, it is the largest single class pre-season entry list for World Superbikes since 2010 and heralds the introduction of new regulations designed to cut costs and level the playing field between factory and privateer teams.

Eight manufacturers will participate, with defending champions Aprilia Racing pooling its resources with the Red Devils Roma operation after deciding to focus on its burgeoning MotoGP bid for 2015. It is also one of three manufacturers - along with Ducati and MV Agusta - to bring updated models to the series.

Reigning champion Sylvain Guintoli confirms he will run with the #1 plate, while the field will feature eight WSBK rookies, including ex-GP riders Randy de Puniet, Jordi Torres, Nico Terol and Roman Ramos.

New team JR Racing BMW, meanwhile, has already announced it won't compete in the opening round due to logistical issues, joining the series in Thailand instead.

2015 Provisional Entry List

1. Sylvain GuintoliFRA PATA Honda CBR1000RR
2. Leon CamierGBR MV Agusta Reparto Corse F4RR
7. Chaz DaviesGBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati SBK Panigale R
10. Imre TothHUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR
14. Randy de PunietFRA Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
15. Matteo BaioccoITA Althea Racing Ducati Panigale R
18. Nico TerolESP Althea Racing Ducati Panigale R
20. Sylvain BarrierFRA BMW Motorad Italia S1000RR
22. Alex LowesGBR Voltcom Crescent Suzuki GSX-R1000
23. Christophe PonssonLUX Grillini SBK Team Kawasaki ZX-10R
34. Toni EliasESP JR Racing Team BMW S1000RR
34. Davide GiuglianoITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati SBK Panigale R
36. Leandro MercadoARG Barni Racing Team Ducati Panigale R
40. Roman RamosESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R
44. David SalomESP Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
51. Santiago BarraganESP Grillini SBK Team Kawasaki ZX-10R
59. Niccolo CanepaITA Team Hero EBR 1190RX
60. Michael van der MarkNED PATA Honda CBR1000RR
65. Jonathan ReaGBR Kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10R
66. Tom SykesGBR Kawasaki Racing Team ZX-10R
72. Larry PegramUSA Team Hero EBR 1190RX
75. Gabor RizmayerHUN BMW Team Toth S1000RR
81. Jordi TorresESP Aprilia Racing Team Red Devils RSV4 RF
86. Ayrton BadoviniITA JR Racing Team BMW S1000RR
91. Leon HaslamGBR Aprilia Racing Team Red Devils RSV4 RF

TBATeam Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R

* Ducati Panigale R, Aprilia RSV4 RF and MV Agusta F4RR subject to homologation process



Loading Comments...