The provisional 2014 World Supersport Championship entry list has been published with 23 entries featured across four manufacturers.

Kenan Sofuoglu heads up the grid as the most successful rider in the field, the Turk targeting a record-breaking fourth WSS title aboard a sole MAHI Kawasaki entry in 2014 after being beaten to the crown by Moto2-bound Sam Lowes.

Meanwhile, 2013 title-winning team Yakhnich Motorsport embarks on a new era after swapping from Yamaha to factory MV Agusta machinery, the Russian-based outfit in turn luring 2012 runner-up and Superbike standout Jules Cluzel to compete alongside Vladimir Leonov.

Following an encouraging debut campaign in 2013, Michael van der Mark and Lorenzo Zanetti remain with PATA Honda, while PTR will enter four bikes this year for Jack Kennedy, Ratthapark Wilairot, Nacho Calero Perez and one as-yet-unnamed rider.

Though Honda and Kawasaki make up the majority of the entry list, 2013 title-winning manufacturer Yamaha will still enjoy good representation from DMC-Panavto, with podium winner Kev Coghlan looking to capitalise on the YZF-R6's impressive record at Supersport level.

Coghlan is one of two British riders set to compete full-time in 2014, along with Fraser Rogers, who gets a full-time deal with Com Plus SMS Honda following a one-off outing in 2013.

Other notable satellite entries are ex-British Superbike riders PJ Jacobsen and Florian Marino on the Intermoto Ponyexpres Kawasaki, while Roberto Rolfo joins GO Eleven Kawasaki and German champion Kevin Wahr enters his own privately-funded machine.

Unlike the World Superbike field, which has seen a flurry of new bikes for 2014, the WSS field is significantly down on entries compared with 2013, including no permanent entries from Suzuki or Triumph.

2014 Provisional WSS entry list

4. Jack Kennedy IRL CIA Insurance Honda CBR600RR
5. Roberto Tamburini ITA San Carlo Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-6R
7. Nacho Calero Perez ESP CIA Insurance Honda CBR600RR
9. Tony Covena NED Kawasaki Intermoto ZX-6R
11. Christian Gamarino ITA GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-6R
14. Ratthapark Wilairot THA Core PTR Honda CBR600RR
16. Jules Cluzel FRA MV Agusta RC Yakhnich F3RR
19. Kevin Wahr GER Team Wahr by Kraus Racing Honda CBR600RR
21. Florian Marino ITA Kawasaki Intermoto ZX-6R
24. Marco Bussolotti ITA Lorini Honda CBR600RR
26. Lorenzo Zanetti ITA PATA Honda CBR600RR
44. Roberto Rolfo ITA GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-6R
54. Kenan Sofuoglu TUR MAHI Kawasaki ZX-6R
60. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Honda CBR600RR
61. Fabio Menghi ITA VFT Yamaha YZF-R6
65. Vladimir Leonov RUS MV Agusta RC Yakhnich F3RR
84. Riccardo Russo ITA Lorini Honda CBR600RR
88. Kev Coghlan GBR DMC Panavto Yamaha YZF-R6
89. Fraser Rogers GBR Com Plus SMS Honda CBR600RR
99. PJ Jacobsen USA Kawasaki Intermoto ZX-6R
161. Alexey Ivanov RUS DMC Panavto Yamaha YZF-R6TBA Lorini Honda CBR600RRTBA Core PTR Honda CBR600RR



Loading Comments...