Click here for full World Supersport FP1 results from Losail

Reigning World Supersport champion has started the final round of the season as he finished in Jerez by topping the pack in FP1 at Losail ahead of PJ Jacobsen and Jules Cluzel after Kyle Smith set the early pace for the majority of the session.

CIA Landlords Insurance Honda's Smith stormed to the top of the timesheet with his first timed lap and continued to chip away as the track gained grip from discarded rubber during the first track session of the race weekend.

In a largely uneventful session as a large number of riders became familiar with the Losail track on their maiden outing, Smith grew his advantage to over four-tenths on champion Sofuoglu with less than 15 minutes remaining.

However, as the pace cranked up over the final five minutes Cluzel jumped to the top for MV Agusta by breaking into the 2m 03s bracket. The French rider's joy was short-lived as he was trumped by Jacobsen and Sofuoglu with their final flying lap efforts to see the reigning World Supersport champion head the field in FP1.

That left Smith down in fourth but two-tenths of a second ahead of Ayrton Badovini and Ondrej Jezek, with Randy Krummenacher starting his final World Supersport race weekend in seventh.

Just behind the Swiss rider Federico Caricasulo claimed eighth from fellow Italian Lorenzo Zanetti as former British Supersport champion Luke Stapleford rounded out the top ten in the opening free practice session.



Loading Comments...