Click here for full World Supersport qualifying results from Losail

Luke Stapleford has secured his first World Supersport pole position by beating already-crowned champion Kenan Sofuoglu by less than one-tenth of a second at Losail.

Having to progress through Superpole one the former British Supersport champion made the best use of the extra track time to refine his Profile Racing Triumph package on his first visit to Losail to clinch a maiden World Supersport pole position in his rookie campaign.

Sofuoglu, who wrapped up the title last time out in Jerez, had his final two flying laps slightly spoiled by traffic and couldn't quite bridge the time gap to Stapleford to force him to settle for second on the grid but still ahead of Puccetti Kawasaki team-mate Randy Krummenacher who completed the front row.

On row two Alex Baldolini heads CIA Landlords Insurance Honda's Kyle Smith and MV Agusta's Jules Cluzel as the Frenchman looks to pinch the runner-up spot in the championship from Krummenacher at the final round.

Malaysian rider Zulfahmi Khairuddin fronts row three having been reprieved into Superpole two after Christian Gamarino had his best lap time from Superpole one deleted for exceeding track limits.

Ayrton Badovini and PJ Jacobsen complete the third row as Christoffer Bergman, Kyle Ryde and Micahel Canducci rounded out the Superpole two contenders who qualified on row four.



Loading Comments...