Click here for full WSS race results from Aragon

Defending World Supersport champion Kenan Sofuoglu has kick-started his season with a first win of the year thanks to a controlled lights-to-flag win at Aragon ahead of team-mate Randy Krummenacher, while Nicol Terol claimed his maiden podium.

The Kawasaki Puccetti rider suffered a pointless season opener in Australia before narrowly missing out on the win in Thailand but after dominating qualifying in Aragon he demonstrated his superior race pace to lead every lap with a comfortable gap to Krummenacher.

The Swiss rider claimed an easy second to give the team a one-two finish while he extended his lead in the championship to 13 points after nearest rival PJ Jacobsen crashed out on the opening lap. Jacobsen's off combined with Jules Cluzel's technical issues with the MV Agusta enabled Terol to take a first podium in the series.

Cluzel, who had briefly battled Krummenacher in the opening stages, struggled to get his machine stopped in the heavy braking zones while also contending with gearbox issues which meant he could only finish fourth.

At lights out Sofuoglu held the lead into the first corner but a charging PJ Jacobsen enjoyed a terrific blast off the line but in an over-exuberant dive for the lead he tuck the front of his Ten Kate-prepared Honda which cartwheeled into the gravel trap. Further back Gino Rea was tangled in a multiple-bike clash in the midfield.

With the running order slotting into action Cluzel looked to take the fight to the Kawasaki duo at the front by overtaking Krummenacher at the final corner at the end of lap three.

However, two laps later the Swiss rider repaid the favour at the same section with Alex Baldolini following past Cluzel before his MV Agusta expired in spectacular style on the pit straight.

In front Sofuoglu dictated the pace at the front with the front four slowly spreading out, meaning the late action was dominated by the San Carlo Team Italia Kawasaki duo who joined the race competing in the European Supersport Cup. Zaccone got the better of Bassani ahead of Federico Caricasulo as Zulfahmi Khairuddin, Kevin Wahr and Christian Gamarino completed the top ten.

Kyle Smith lead the British gaggle in eleventh ahead of Kyle Ryde with Ilya Mikhalchik Ondrej Jezek and Nacho Calero rounding out the point-paying positions.



Loading Comments...