Click here for full World Supersport race results from Misano

Kenan Sofuoglu came out on top of a thrilling battle to win at Misano, extending his championship lead to 40 points.

The Puccetti Kawasaki rider held off rookie Federico Caricasulo on the Bardahl Evans Bros. Honda to win by half-a-second at the Marco Simoncelli Circuit, with American PJ Jacobsen completing the top three for the Honda World Supersport team.

Jacobsen had led the way for much of the second half of the race but dropped two positions at the end, with impressive pole man Caricasulo claiming his second rostrum result of his debut season in the class.

The Italian rider hit the front from the start ahead of Sofuoglu and Jacobsen, with Alessandro Zaccone (San Carlo Kawasaki) forcing his way into fourth ahead of Randy Krummenacher (Puccetti Kawasaki) on the opening laps.

Jules Cluzel dropped outside the top ten on the Reparto Corse MV Agusta after coming off worse in a lap one melee instigated by Zaccone. The Frenchman experienced more woe later when he came off on lap 9 at turn six as he tried to fight his way back into contention.

Jacobsen took over the lead from Caricasulo after half distance and began to open a slight advantage, with the pair beginning to pull away from reigning champion Sofuoglu in third.

However, Kawasaki rider Sofuoglu rallied and exchanged passes with a determined Caricasulo in the final part of the race, who ran wide with four laps remaining, allowing the championship leader through into second place.

Sofuoglu began to hunt down Jacobsen and hit the front with two laps to go, opening a small gap to strike for a hard-earned win as Caricasulo also found a way past Jacobsen to snatch second.

Behind the top three, GRT Racing's Gino Rea progressed through to fourth place on the MV Agusta, while Zaccone was forced out with a technical problem.

Krummenacher, second in the points standings, finished fifth while Lorenzo Zanetti completed the top six (Reparto Corse MV Agusta).

Alex Baldolini Race Department ATK#25 MV Agusta), and Axel Bassani (San Carlo Team Italia Kawasaki) - the top FIM Europe Supersport Cup finisher - were the first eight.

British rider Luke Stapleford was a fine ninth on the Profile Racing Triumph ahead of Christoffer Bergman (CIA Landlord Insurance Honda).

Kyle Smith retired with a technical issue with his CIA Landlord Insurance Honda.

The next round of the championship takes place at Lausitzring in Germany on September 19 after the summer break, with no World Supersport race at Laguna Seca at round nine (July 10).



Loading Comments...